Culinary Weekend

The weekend’s are usually when Chris and I get the most creative in the kitchen. If we’re not entertaining friends or family we’re scouring the internet for recipe ideas and spend most of our mornings and evenings shopping, prepping, cooking and eating. It’s likely the highlight of K’s weekends too as she’s gotten much more involved in the process.

Each Monday I’ll do my best to blog our weekend culinary adventures and the recipes as applicable. Typically we get inspiration from images, recipe names, or the like and do our best to recreate to our tastes. Rarely do I ever follow one-Chris on the other hand likes to try it first and make changes afterwards. For the life of me I don’t understand his rule-following way of life. I find recipes, or rules, to be simply suggestions for the most part. As you can imagine this has gotten me in trouble no less than half a trillion times. Give or take.

ImageImagelinImage

Thursday my friend Jenn (who’s mostly perfect in every way except for the fact that she puts pre cooked rotisserie chicken in the oven still sitting in it’s plastic bed thingamajig) and I threw a surprise baby shower brunch/play date for our homie Kristin. Because pregnant women and their taste buds are a nice mix of indecisive and peculiar I figured I’d work with what I had on hand and make a Pineapple Blueberry tea, purple hull peas, blueberry oatmeal bars, and some fresh fruit. The mama’s and kids alike tore it up- I think there was only one oatmeal bar left out of the entire spread of food. Before I allow myself to bask in the glory of many, many kudos it’s worth mentioning there were many mouths to feed so my culinary greatness is diminished somewhat.

Image

I think I made the above chicken/ravioli/brussles sprouts dish on Friday. My days all run together at this point so for the sake of continuing on, we’ll say I made it Friday. Kristin (the baby shower homie) gave me some fresh basil, mint, and rosemary from her garden so I threw it together with a tomato sauce, some ravioli from Costco, and chicken I grilled up that had been marinading in Italian dressing and lemon juice. Not my best tomato sauce I’ve made but dinner was on the table and we had enough for several leftovers. I’ll consider it a win.

Image ImageImageImage

Friday night Chris went to Whole Paycheck and brought back some local coffee, a chocolate cake with ducks and palm trees on it (that he claims K picked out), and some goodness to make mini German pancakes for breakfast Saturday. K measured out and poured in all the ingredients so we made sure to encourage her and thank her for such a wonderful breakfast. There was enough batter to make one large pancake and 12 mini ones. We ended up having enough for three days worth of breakfasts as we stored the sauce and pancakes in the fridge through the weekend

Image Image

Image20140621_165642

Saturday night I had a hankering for Huevos Rancheros-something I’d never had but desperately wanted to try. I didn’t follow the linked recipe as I we didn’t have corn toritllas, beans or feta but I did end up with a great high protein meal using our left over carne asada from earlier in the week. In case you haven’t noticed we use a lot of leftovers in our house. We typically cook in bulk three times a week in an effort to save money and time I have to spend in the kitchen during the week.

 

Image

After watching the USA blow an easy win I figured it was worth decrompressing in the kitchen and prepping this week’s breakfast. K has been obsessed with baked oatmeal bars and I’ve toyed around with a recipe to suit our taste. This week we had  several leftover strawberries from last week’s grocery run so I threw ’em on top in an effort to be a good steward of what we already have in our home. It’s probably my favorite batch to date and can easily be adapted by adding other fruits or some maple syrup.

 

 

Mini German Pancakes with Blueberry Syrup: from Chef In Training

INGREDIENTS
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • ¼ cup butter, melted
BLUEBERRY SAUCE/SYRUP
  • 1 cup water
  • ½ cup sugar
  • ¾ tsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2½ Tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1 cup blueberries
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Blend together eggs, flour, milk, salt vanilla and butter until smooth. We have always just dumped it all into a blender and done it that way.
  3. Pour patter into greased muffin tins until each muffin slot is filled about ½ way full.
  4. Bake for 15-18 minutes until done and puffed up.
TO MAKE BLUEBERRY SUACE/SYRUP:
  1. Cook water, sugar, lemon juice, vanilla and cornstarch in a medium saucepan over medium heat until it thickens up. Stir in blueberries and simmer for about 10 minutes.
  2. Fill each mini german pancake with blueberry sauce.

 

Huevos Rancheros: Adapted from Food Network

2 roma tomatos, roughly chopped

1/2 white onion, roughly chopped

1 jalapeno, seeded and deveined, roughly chopped

1 t each salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder

1 T butter

1/3 c water

1 t garlic

2 t lime juice

2 eggs, pan fried using nonstick spray

4 oz cooked carne asada, chopped

corn tortillas or tortilla chips

avocado, cheese, cilantro, sour cream, lime-as desired

Method

In a sucepan melt butter and soften jalapenos and onions for 3 min. Add tomatoes, spices, water, garlic, and lime juice. Allow to simmer on the stove as you cook eggs.

Spray a skillet with nonstick cooking spray and add chopped carne asada. Cook until warmed through.

After removing carne asada cook eggs until over hard-slighly runny.

Assemble by topping eggs with carne asada and then salsa. Serve with desired sides and tortillas or chips

 

 

Baked Oatmeal

1/3 c egg whites or 2 whole eggs

1 1/4 c milk

1/3 c sugar (brown or granulated)

2 t vanilla

2 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

1/2 t cinnamon

3 T butter, melted

3 cups old fashioned oats

sliced strawberries

 

Method

Combine first eight ingredients and mix well. Pour over oats. Top with desired fruit. Cook 30 minutes at 350 in a cake pan until set.

Leave a Reply

