Lessons in Exodus

Finding time to be intentionally quiet with the Lord has been on the back burner as of late. I’ve had time; I’ve just chosen to steward it in a “better” way: via time on my phone, looking at the interwebs, cleaning, watching TV, read: anything  BESIDES pursuing Christ. Let’s just be honest. I’m up all through the night and there’s only so many blogs one can read (and re read) without feeling convicted and Spiritually dry. Much like my One Sweet A Day rule, (which is kind of working, by the way, thanks in large part to my husband’s intervention as I prepared chocolate covered strawberries last night…)  this is an area of my life I’m inconsistent with. Imagine that. Poor eating habits. Poor  intimacy with Christ habits. Meh.

So here I’ve landed in reading Exodus. I think it’s one of the only times I’ve genuinely wanted to pick up where I left off in the Bible. I’m frequently looking at Dr. Constable’s commentary because I need clarification on most everything. Namely Exodus 9:12-But the LORD hardened Pharaoh’s heart and he would not listen to Moses and Aaron, just as the LORD had said to Moses. 

Why in the world did God harden Pharoah’s heart? The text surrounding this verse shows Pharoah hardening his own heart. “This is the first time we read that God hardened Pharaoh’s heart (v. 12). If a person continues to harden his own heart, God will then harden it further in judgment (cf. Rom. 1). It is also the first indication that the Egyptian learned men could no longer resist Moses and his God. “The lesson here is that when one ignores the prompting of the Lord time and time again (see 7:13, 22; 8:15, 19, 32; 9:7), the Lord will confirm that resistance and make belief impossible.” http://www.soniclight.com/constable/notes/pdf/exodus.pdf


Boom. Enter conviction. The more I continue to go Elizabeth’s way and neglect the tugging at my little heart strings the bigger the gap I build between my God and myself. Ain’t nobody got time to live a life with a gap of any size between themselves and the Lord. I assure you Deuteronomy 5:33 drives it home: “Walk in obedience to all that the LORD your God has commanded you, so that you may live and prosper and prolong your days in the land that you will possess.”  

On page six of Dr. Constable’s commentary he states: “God illustrated the importance of placing Him at the center of life by locating the ark of the covenant in the center of the tabernacle, and by placing the tabernacle in the center of the Israelite camp. Obedience consists of arranging all the parts of life in proper relation to God, who is at the center. If something in life does not orient toward God properly, there is disobedience. In this way, Exodus deepens the revelation concerning obedience that God gave in Genesis.” 

I found myself a few days ago praying for balance in my life and was immediately made aware of what a terrible prayer that was. Why was I asking God for permission to abide with him during a percentage of my day while allowing myself the other (likely majority) part of the time doing as I pleased? Sure there’s room for margin as we can’t spend all day literally praying without ceasing (See 1 Thessalonians 5:17). The point is that our actions, the way we steward our time, our money, and our desires should at their very center be pleasing to the Lord. The Bible gives us clarity on this over and over again. If I have time to do the things I want to do in abundance then I surely have time to spend pouring over the Scriptures and becoming more intimately acquainted with the One who knit me together. 

Going forward I’m unsure what intimacy with God will look like. My excitement for this journey through this section of Scripture is profound. Nap time for my kiddo’s is now set aside for Christ, not for the Roku. I assure you the benefit is greater than any episode of The Tonight Show could ever stand to give.The crazy of this season of life creates for minimal predictability, though I refuse to use that as an excuse to remain dormant in my walk. The lessons God’s teaching me through Exodus I’m sure are plenty and are ones worth sharing.
Leave a Reply

