That was the wrong answer

We love simple carbs, sugar, and butter in this house. We have dessert daily. We have it after breakfast, lunch, dinner, and sometimes dessert after dessert. Though this is surely a large over exaggeration, the point is simple: we have an healthy view of sugar in our home. 

This view has brought me to be convicted of the way I treat the body God gave me (stretch marks and all). Recently (as in within the past few days) I’ve began operating under the “one sweet a day” rule. It has been challenging but K has noticed-which brings me to the point of this post. 

After dinner yesterday I cut up a fresh pineapple and the following conversation happened:

“Is that for dessert?”-K
“Yep.”-E
“Why?”-K
“So Mama can look good for Daddy.”-E

Let that bit of stupid sink in for a bit. I told my highly impressionable three year old daughter that I was substituting cake for fresh fruit for a man. For her daddy. Because clearly I am full of it and a complete lunatic. What the what kind of parenting fail was that?!

There is a sincere amount of truth in my desire for my husband to be attracted to me, as he desires for me to be attracted to him. We is married people, yo. We like each other and if my man is still on board the marriage train after witnessing my lowest lows in natural childbirth and the crazy that followed in the form of hormonal breakdowns and a body that looks nothing like it did a year ago then I’d say we’re good. Unfortunately the Teachable Moment K presented me with less than 12 hours ago has had me bogged down with regret and a desire to fix it-while never repeating it again,

I sincerely hope I don’t teach my daughter that her healthy choices are for a man. That a man will only love her if she’s a size 0, or on a bad day, a size 2.  That her daddy is the type of man who only loves her mama if she looks thin. That either  of her parents have such a warped since of the purpose of food and image that they’d instill those values while teaching of the wonders of the God above who loves her.

Her view of self should be firmly rooted in who Christ says she is. Who, in case you’re wondering includes
      We are a new creation 2 Corinthians 5:17

      We become God’s children Galatians 3:26

We have the forgiveness of sins Ephesians 1:7
We were also chosen Ephesians 1:11
We are for the praise of his glory Ephesians 1:12
We have been seated in the heavenly realms Ephesians 2:6
We’ve been given the incomparable riches of God’s grace Ephesians 2:7

My prayer for today is that I will not only teach my daughter to see herself as her Heavenly Father does, but that I will take to heart those Truths as well. That my choices will not only benefit me but will provide a living and tangible example of how to take care of this body I’ve been blessed with.
Leave a Reply

