Monkey Bread

I absolutely cheated with this recipe. I did “kick it up a notch” from what many recipes called for (refrigerated biscuits) and used packaged cinnamon rolls. My intention was to make something as fabulous as I am and make the dough by hand and have a fun mix in like pecans, white chocolate chips, Nutella, Kahlua, Bailey’s, I mean,  flavored syrup 🙂

 Time was short, I’m trying to stick to a budget for the first time, um, ever, and I had several meals to make for others and figured I’d repeat the desserts. Of course I had to make one for my girlfriends first so I could tweak as I saw fit and here’s what happened. Note- one package of cinnamon rolls makes a very tiny batch. In order to feed a group I’d recommend using at least three tubes.

I mixed the off brand with the good stuff to help keep a good flavor in the dough while being money conscious.In a gallon sized zip lock bag I added the sugars and cinnamon so I could shake and cover (shake and bake?! Thank you, Ricky Bobby) the pieces evenly. 

Some pieces I cut in half, others, into fourths. Heck, I may have even made one giant piece but it likely remained mushy and was not worth bragging over .
After equally shaking the rolled pieces of cinnamon roll I put them in a well sprayed bundt pan with the butter, honey, vanilla, cinnamon sugar mixture. The vanilla and honey were the added “fabulous” I could come up with off hand. I had some Triple Sec and some pecans but opted out of both.

 After cooking at 350 until done, approx 25 minutes, I let it cool slightly on the stove and drizzled the pre packaged icing over top. I fully intended to add my own cream cheese, powdered sugar, milk, vanilla frosting to it but in the interest of saving time and cleaning the kitchen I called it good. My house smells like a million bucks and my love handles are screaming for a dose of fat and sugar. This time, I’ll happily oblige!

 Shortcut Monkey Bread
1 tube refrigerated cinnamon rolls, cut into halves or quarters
1/4 c white sugar
1/4 c brown sugar
 1 T cinnamon
1 1/2 T butter
1/4 t vanilla
1/2 t honey
1 T reserved cinnamon sugar mixture

Method:
Cut cinnamon rolls to desired size and roll into balls. Place dough in ziplock bag filled with sugars and cinnamon and toss well to coat. Place pieces in well-sprayed bundt pan and top with melted butter that has been mixed with the reserved C&S mixture, honey, and vanilla. Bake at 350 for approx. 25 min. Cool five minutes and transfer to serving plate. Cover with icing included with cinnamon rolls. Enjoy with a caramel macchiato, cup of black tea, or milk.

Leave a Reply

