Porkchops and Wassail Apples

So, I know I said I was going to be making this recipe but it turns out we were super short on time and, alas, a new dish was born. We had a large pork loin that we got on sale and at the encouragement of Chris’ grandpa and in the interest of saving both time and money we sliced it up into pork chops and probably patted ourselves on the back in the process. We normally eat dinner around 5:30 and as of late with all the flooring issues we eat closer to 7. This has helped my late night snack some (ok, that’s a lie) but I think K is enjoying it since she has made a big girl decision to start going to bed at 11PM. Not happening much longer, y’all.

We have a wine from Whole Foods (see below) that we’re obsessed with that paired perfectly with the meal. I commented more than once what a “Fall” meal we were having but given the cooler temperatures as of late I felt justified.

I also made a batch of “Paleo” avocado deviled eggs. Pardon my daughter’s hand in the pictre. The girl has never eaten an egg in her life and home girl got down on some “lemon eggs” as she now calls them. I was out of mustard when I made them and figured for tartness I’d throw some lemon juice in. Knowing my sweetie, sweetie loves lemon anything I used my forgivable mommy deciet and told her they were lemon eggs and were “sooooooo yummy.” What I didn’t tell her is they were full of avocado, another food she won’t eat, and my mommy happiness scale went out the window. 
Here’s a recipe for an authentic

Paleo version of the eggs. I didn’t exactly follow the recipe. I’ll include mine below.

Avocado deviled eggs

6 hard boiled eggs, shelled, cooled, sliced, and yolks removed
1/2 avocado
2 t. lemon juice
1/2 t salt
1/2 t pepper
1/2 t paprika
1/2 t garlic
1 t parsley
2 t. hot sauce
1/4 c. Miracle Whip (hence this recipe not being truly Paleo)

Combine all ingredients except egg whites into a food processor and blend until smooth, tasting frequently for desired seasoning level. Spoon mixture into a sandwich sized Ziploc bag and cut a small tip off the corner of a bag. Squeeze yolk/avocado mixture into hollowed out eggs and refrigerate until serving.

Wassail Apples
6 large apples, peeled and sliced (I just used my combo apple corer/slicer and left the pieces large. Feel free to chop or slice more thinly)
1/2 c. all natural apple juice
1/4 c. water
1/2 t. each-cinnamon, clove, nutmeg, ginger, salt
1/4 c. brown sugar
2 T. lemon juice
2 T. butter

Combine all ingredients and simmer until tender. Allow juice to be just hot enough to cook the apples but not boiling. The reserved juice, as more will cook out of the apples, is great spooned over top the pork chops.

Porkchops-
3 lb store bought or 1 3 lb pork loin, sliced
1 T each: salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder-mixed to combine
EVOO, water-as needed

Sprinkle both sides of pork chops and cook on medium high in a cast iron skillet with a splash of EVOO. It helps to deglaze the pan if you keep a cup of water next to the stove as you cook. The seasonings that adhere to the bottom bubble around the meat to both keep it tender and infuse flavor. If you’re like me you’ll also keep a spoon around for “quality control” to ensure the broth is indeed fantastic.

Leave a Reply

