Update and Spicy Black Bean Dip

Welp…it has been over a month since my last post and I assure you we’ve done a ton of blog-worthy cooking in our home but none of it has been documented. I apologize. I do have pictures of the past few weeks random meals from eating out, hosting dinner parties, and the like. Enjoy!!!

For our anniversary I bought Chris a smoker so we’ve been doing a lot of experimentation with rubs, cooking methods, and meats.

We had a BBQ with our A.W.E.S.O.M.E community group (who are sure to be foodies by the time the end of the year rolls around.) I made some wicked awesome deviled eggs with bacon, too. I’ll post the recipe if interested, but for the sake of saving time because I’m supposed to be cleaning for my wonderful in law’s visit ūüôā Just know it’s my new favorite recipe.

After Starbucks announced Christians are welcome to take their investment dollars elsewhere (not that we’ve had any stock in the company, but, I exercise my right to choose where I get latte’s from) I’ve blown up Saxby’s on an¬†embarrassing¬†coffee extravaganza. This is just three of the past…um…10?? trips. My name is Elizabeth and I’m a latte addict. No lie. No stinkin’ lie. I just hooked myself up with their coconut syrup so I’ll be saving my bank account $5 transactions. You’re welcome, banking establishment.

I make couscous for the first time a few weeks ago. Not such a huge fan. I prefer potatoes. My feta and cream cheese topping was pure win. So were the baked tomatoes and onions.
Hamburger. Pepper Jack. Fried egg. Avocado. bacon. Tomato. Enough said.
Dolmas! Do yourself a favor and go eat these. Now. Whole Foods sells them near the olive bar if you don’t have a¬†Mediterranean¬†restaurant near by. K tore these bad boys up. I’m such a proud mama.
Cinnamon rolls plus butter plus apple pie filling plus frosting and oatmeal crumble equal calorie free dessert. Honest. *cough*

Anniversary dinner. I had an amaretto sour at the movie theater before our sushi date so I was mildly turned off to the raw fish. We will definitely be back. Especially for Sake in a box. And the fish roe. And the green tea. And the soup. Apparently my palate wasn’t that off.

Chicken piccata. Likely my favorite non-Indian chicken dish. It was no Cheesecake Factory but you can’t go wrong with capers.
Finally, the black bean dip. I was bored. I was hungry. I needed to clear space in my fridge and pantry. A girlfriend reminded me I have a food blog (thanks, Olivia!!!) and, alas, here we are. I’m in this “I need savory food and chips now!” mood so the dip came to be. My family will be in town for the weekend so I figured I’d kill two birds with one stone and allow it to¬†marinade¬†until they get ¬†in and can snack after their road trip. (Surprise, Kim! I made you yummy deliciousness to enjoy tonight!) It was beyond easy and perfect for an appetizer or pot luck dish.
Spicy Black Bean Dip
 1 29 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 10 oz can Rotel (I used Original but you could absolutely use the Mexican with cilantro or Hot)
12 oz sour cream
4 T lime juice
1 bunch cilantro
1/4 medium white onion
4 cups organic spinach
2 T garlic-minced (or 3 cloves fresh)
1/2 t salt
1/2 t cayenne
1 t cumin
1 t chili powder
Add all ingredients to a food processor and blend until smooth. Serve with tortilla chips. or for you healthy homies, veggies. (Feel free to sub plain greek yogurt for the sour cream to save on calories and fat as well as add some protein.)
Leave a Reply

