Lemon Basil Chicken Pasta

 I’m really slacking this week, yo. So much has happened that I’m sure I’ll get to in coming weeks but I can’t put it all together into words just yet. So we’ll eat awesome food 🙂

I started by marinating chicken in some honey, mustard, salt, and lemon juice for a few hours.

 After grilling until done I put 1/4 c.white wine over it for flavor and added an equal amount of wine to the noodles once cooked al dente.

After the chicken and pasta were cooked I made the sauce and added in fresh basil. It all came together well in  a large stock pot and simmered for a few more minutes on the stove to heat through. I cooked the noodles in advance so I could save on clean up and trying to carry a large pot of boiling water through the kitchen while my grill pan screamed at me that the chicken was likely burning given the scattered brain I had yesterday afternoon. Chris picked this recipe out last weekend and it was beyond fabulous. I love lemon and think this one could have used more.

For the sauce I added a cup of chicken broth in place of the reserved pasta water. Since we had more chicken and pasta on hand and adjusted the sauce to fit. To save on time I just bought a bottle of the packaged lemon juice in the produce department and divided it between the marinade and sauce. For extra creaminess I threw in a handful of mozzerella. For an added bonus you could always throw in a few cups of spinach or broccoli or use whole wheat pasta. I simply can’t get on board with that stuff-it tastes like thick cardboard no matter how tasty the sauce covering it.

*Note* The sauce only makes enough to cover the noodles and chicken. I’d recommend using 50% more of each ingredient if you intend to reheat for leftovers. Also, the recipe as a whole serves MANY. Consider this a go to for dinner parties by adding a side salad and some tiramisu at the end.

Ingredients for Grilled Chicken with Lemon Basil Pasta from The Pioneer Woman

  • 4 whole Grilled Chicken Breasts, Sliced
  • 1 pound Penne Pasta, Cooked Until Al Dente
  • 1/2 stick Butter
  • 3 whole Lemons, Juiced
  • 3/4 cups Heavy Cream
  • 1/4 cup Half-and-half
  • 1-1/2 cup Grated Parmesan Cheese (or Romano)
  • Salt And Freshly Ground Black Pepper, To Taste
  • 20 whole Basil Leaves, Chopped

Preparation Instructions

Cook pasta, reserving 1 cup of hot pasta water when you drain. Set pasta aside in a colander.
In the same pot, melt butter over medium heat. Squeeze in the juice of 3 to 4 lemons. Whisk together. Pour in cream and half-and-heat. Whisk until hot. Dump in cheese and whisk until melted. Add salt and pepper. Check consistency, adding some of the hot pasta water to loosen the sauce if needed.
Pour pasta and sauce into a large serving bowl. Sprinkle remaining basil all over the top, then add sliced chicken breasts. Serve immediately!

Recipe adopted from The Pioneer Woman

Leave a Reply

