Frozen Hot Chocolate

So…I did a poor job of following the recipe I was using. I was pretty unimpressed with how it turned out and will definitely be using a different one next time
I added one packet of hot chocolate and 1/8 cup each of dark and white chocolate to 1 1/2 c milk. Once blended in our Ninja to fully blend the chocolates I put that bad boy in the freezer to cool down. I was antsy so it didn’t spend enough time chilling and likely made the drink watered down from melting the ice I blended with it.I also forgot to added more sugar as the recipe called for but I figured with all the fat and sugar from the chocolate chips and cocoa mix I could do without the extra.

 I’d have been perfectly thrilled with eating the mini marshmallow/whipped cream/cherry combo on top. I’d absolutely recommend doubling the amount of chocolate to the milk, letting it cool completely, and going all in with adding the extra sugar. Perhaps my cocoa mix was sub-par as Serendipity makes their own mix to help bring the one from the restaurant to your home. In my 6PM hunger I’m probably going to head back to the kitchen to recreate last night’s chocolate disaster in hopes I can offset all the calories I burned at the gym. Who doesn’t like working up a mean sweat just to make it all worthless by drinking your calories?!

Ingredients
  • 6 pieces (1/2-ounce) chocolate , a variety of your favorites
  • 2 teaspoons store-bought hot chocolate mix  
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 3 cups ice
  • Whipped cream
  • Chocolate shavings
Directions
Chop the chocolate into small pieces. Place it in the top of a double boiler over simmering water. Stir occasionally until melted. Add the hot chocolate mix and sugar. Stir until completely melted. Remove from heat and slowly add ½ cup of milk until smooth. Cool to room temperature.

In a blender, place the remaining cup of milk, the room-temperature chocolate mixture and the ice. Blend on high speed until smooth and the consistency of a frozen daiquiri. Pour into a giant goblet and top with whipped cream and chocolate shavings.

Read more: http://www.oprah.com/food/Frrrozen-Hot-Chocolate#ixzz2NBCN7sXs

One thought on “Frozen Hot Chocolate

  1. Looks delicious! On the back of Hersheys cocoa powder can they have a hot chocolate recipe. Kevin made it for me one time and it was so yummy and rich, I put my glass in the fridge until the next day. It was cold and refreshing. It would be perfect for frozen hot chocolate, either add ice in a blender or freeze then thaw. Anyhoo, it was freaking good : )

Leave a Reply

