Lime Chicken Tacos

 
 I had every intention of having Chris pick up a pizza or food made by anyone else but me on his way home last night. The past 72 hours in our home have been crazy. I have an ear infection and was given antibiotic drops for treatment. Within minutes I had welts and a fancy rash to go along with it. My sweet friend Anne drove half an hour to watch K while we contemplated whether or not to take the pharmacist’s advice to go to the ER or urgent care clinic. We opted to stay home (much against my will) and after a double dose of Benadryl and some hydrocortisone I was rash free and exhausted. I worked and ran errands all the next day knowing full well I we needed dinner that night. Digging my heels in and refusing not to cook I sucked it up and stumbled through the kitchen for two hours while K played outside and  behaved herself. My taste is off so I wasn’t sure how everything came together but Chris encouraged my skills and told me they were the best tacos he has had in a long time. I used the ingredients called for in the original recipe but didn’t follow it at all. I didn’t merinate the chicken nor did I grill it.
 
I boiled my chicken for a few hours in a mix of chicken boullion, 2 jalapenos, a white onion, several cloves of garlic, rosemary, oregano, salt, pepper, cumin, garlic and onion powder, and some paprika. Ideally this would have simmered much longer but time was not on my side.
 
I didn’t fully read the recipe before I chose it. After last week I decided I was choosing some meals and took it upon myself to find some equally time consuming dishes. If I wasn’t sick I can assure you I could have knocked this out in significantly less time. The dish called for an avocado and corn salsa. I first boiled the corn and then threw it under the broiler for a few minutes to create some color. This made a huge batch and I actually have a few avocados left that I’ll blend in smoothies for some added nutrition and creaminess. Uber thanks to Anne for that tip.

The beans were two cans of black beans, a few ladles of the chicken stock from the simmering chicken, a can of Rotel, and a dollop of sour cream.

 
 
While Chris and I ate our meal K decided she didn’t want “those tacos” and instead noshed out of the bag of cheese. It took some convincing but she finally let me put some beans and chicken on a few tortilla chips and melt some cheese over top for nachos. She of course made a disaster of the formal dining room but I was escatic that she ate so much. 

INGREDIENTS
Chicken Ingredients:
1 1/2 pounds boneless chicken breasts
2 tablespoons fresh-squeezed lime juice
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly-ground black pepper, or to taste
1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary, or 1/4 teaspoon dried
Corn Guacamole Ingredients:
2 large ripe Mexican avocados, halved, pitted and diced
1 jalapeño chile, roasted, chopped, or to taste
2 garlic cloves, roasted with the skin on, peeled and minced
3/4 cup corn kernels, shaved from corn, or cooked from thawed
3/4 cup cherry or grape tomatoes, halved or chopped
1 tablespoon fresh-squeezed lime juice
3/4 teaspoon kosher or sea salt, or to taste
To assemble Tacos:
10-12 corn tortillas, homemade or store-bought
TO PREPARE
To make the Chicken:
Mix the lime juice with the olive oil, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon ground pepper and rosemary in a bowl. Pour on top of the chicken, in a container. Cover and refrigerate anywhere from 1/2 hour up to 12 hours.
Heat a medium-sized sauté or grill pan over medium-high heat. Add corn or safflower oil; once it is hot but not smoking, add the chicken. Sauté until golden brown and cooked through, about 5 minutes per side. Remove from the pan, place on chopping board to cool. When cool enough to handle, slice into diagonal strips about a 1/2-inch wide.
To make the Guacamole:
Place the jalapeño and garlic cloves in a small baking dish under the broiler, for 6 to 9 minutes, until completely cooked through, soft and skin is charred. Once cool enough to handle, peel garlic and mince along with chiles.
Place diced avocado in a mixing bowl. Add the charred and minced garlic and jalapeños, gently tossing everything together well. Incorporate the corn and tomatoes. Squeeze the lime juice on top and sprinkle the salt. Mix it all together.
To assemble Tacos:
In an already hot skillet or comal set over medium-low heat, heat the tortillas. It will take about 1 minute per side.
Place the tortillas in a tortilla warmer or wrap them in a clean kitchen towel or cloth napkin. Serve them together with the guacamole and the chicken at the table and assemble your tacos!

Leave a Reply

