Primal Jambalaya

 I’m kind of digging this whole “eating better” deal. It reminds me of my college days of eating ever three hours precisely  1200-1400 calories a day while doing two a days in the gym. I was on the KU Rowing Crew until NCAA decided not to let me work part time and row so I promptly quit that. Needless to say, I was in significantly better shape and in my efforts to not die prematurely I’m back on the train to Healthyville. I had a pit stop in Toffee Marhmallow town today but it was a short stop that shouldn’t hinder my time in getting healthy sooner rather than later. I’m in the throws of battling an epic ear infection so my appetite is minimal (Helloooo, weight loss!)

Chris picked out this time consuming recipe (again) so I let him spend hours in the kitchen yesterday prepping the food while I finished Twilight (waste of my time) and colored with K. The only real difference between this recipe and regular Jambalaya is that we subbed cauliflower  for rice. We do this frequently, especially with Indian food. The Ninja food processor we have works wonders and helps save tons of time.

We forgot to cook the green beans last week so we boiled them with garlic, tomato, and the epic Kuby’s bacon for more nutrition flavor.

We doubled the recipe from the one listed below to help with left overs. Chris also cooked the shrimp separate with garlic and lemon because, well, I wanted him to. We ate most of the 1/2 lb we bought last night so only a few shrimp actually made it to the jambalaya pot. K refused the shrimp for the first time oh, ever, so we happily traded her our chicken pieces for what she refused to eat. This is certainly on my list of recipes to repeat and if you leave out the andouille sausage it’s an extremely healthy dish.

Ingredients:
2 large chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces
1 lb andouille sausage, cut into ¼ inch thick slices
1/4 cup olive oil
1 cup onion, chopped
1 large bell pepper, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced crushed
1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes, undrained
1.5 cups chicken stock
1/2 tsp dried leaf thyme
1 tbsp parsley (fresh is preferable, but dried will do in a pinch!)
1 tsp chili powder
1 large head of cauliflower
2 cups shelled, deveined and cleaned shrimp
Salt and pepper to taste
Method:
In a large skillet, heat the olive oil and lightly cook the sausage and chicken over medium heat. Once golden, add onion, bell pepper and garlic and sauté until onion becomes translucent. Transfer items from the frying pan into a large pot. Add diced tomatoes, chicken broth, thyme, parsley and chili powder and bring to a simmer. While the mixture is simmering (you’ll want to let it go for about 20 minutes, uncovered, stirring occasionally), place the cauliflower in a food processor and shred until it becomes the consistency of rice. Add the cauliflower “rice” to the mixture and simmer for another 15 minutes until tender. Add shrimp and simmer for another 5 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste and adjust other spices as needed. Serve piping hot. Serves 6.

Read more: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-jambalaya/#ixzz2MbLfBqoK

Leave a Reply

