God’s goodness, comfort, and provision.

I have succumbed to giving my kid a medical intervention for nap time. After a night of restless sleep and an early waking time the little sweetie was exhausted. Her running nose (likely from allergies and/or teething) is absolutely not making matters any better. I got the OK from her pediatrician to give her some Benadryl help clear up the congestion and a sad awesome side effect is drowsiness. I can’t tell you the last time my kid went down before 1PM. This is glorious. I know she’s sleep deprived and I’m so thankful she’s getting caught up on her rest.

Yesterday was a beyond productive day. I fully took advantage of her late afternoon and rocked out some housework. I am housewife-hear me roar. Unfortunately I have set the bar for myself rather high and sincerely hope my man doesn’t expect such a fabulous looking and smelling home every day. My energy and productivity levels are intermittent. I got caught on a good day. Given my lack-of-caffeine headache and general frustration that somehow K decided to have a band aid party in my living room with Scooby Doo, Dora, and Princess bandages I’m calling today as a day of sloth. In a less sinful kind of way. Thankfully she didn’t tear them out of the package so I don’t have to pry stickiness off my coffee table and various other furniture but simply looking at it and knowing my kid it’s basically a losing battle. More tiny toys or first aid objects are likely to cover my floor again soon so I’m pretty much wasting my time even considering cleaning up most of her messes. Thankfully with prompting she always cleans up her toys but as of late I’ve been passive in the prompting and you better believe she’s not motivated enough to do it herself. Clearly the apple doesn’t fall far…

On a more serious note today is a huge day of praise in our home. I’m just so overwhelmed with God’s provision and love for my family. I don’t intend to elaborate on the personal details but am so thankful to have such a trustworthy God to worship.

I am also well aware of some very heart wrenching situations affecting those closest to me. I am so blessed to have such good people in my life and when tragedy strikes them I fully understand why people sometimes don’t “get” Christianity. How is it possible for a good, loving, caring God to allow us to suffer such unimaginable loss? Though a valid question and one I’m obviously not theologically sound enough to provide my thoughts on, I think I have to meditate on  Job 1:21-

             “ and said:

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb,
    and naked I will depart.<sup class="footnote" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="[a]”>[a]<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(A)”>
The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away;<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(B)”>
    may the name of the Lord be praised.”

It’s difficult to watch people you care most about suffer and  be stuck in this place of “what can I do” and “how do I not bombard them with questions, concern, and a desire to visit?” How do you encourage and support someone grieving? How in the world to you explain to someone that their loving God has a plan bigger than we could ever comprehend and just by leaning closer to Him the pain and the sadness can only diminish? 

I found a great Scripture compilation on Yahoo! shockingly enough and am ever hopeful that those of you grieving for this family with me will encourage them with love, God’s truth, and open arms.
15 Comforting Bible Verses for Grief
Isaiah 41:10
‘Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’
Isaiah 43:2
“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; And through the rivers, they will not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be scorched, Nor will the flame burn you.
Matthew 5:4 
“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
2 Corinthians 1:3-4
Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort; who comforts us in all our affliction so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.

1 Peter 5:6-7

Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you at the proper time, casting all your anxiety upon Him, because He cares for you.
Revelation 21:4
and He shall wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there shall no longer be any death; there shall no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain; the first things have passed away
1 Thessalonians 4:13-18
But we do not want you to be uninformed, brethren, about those who are asleep, that you may not grieve, as do the rest who have no hope. For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so God will bring with Him those who have fallen asleep in Jesus. For this we say to you by the word of the Lord, that we who are alive, and remain until the coming of the Lord, shall not precede those who have fallen asleep. For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trumpet of God; and the dead in Christ shall rise first. Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air, and thus we shall always be with the Lord. Therefore comfort one another with these words.
Romans 8:18
For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory that is to be revealed to us.
2 Corinthians 7:10
For the sorrow that is according to the will of God produces a repentance without regret, leading to salvation; but the sorrow of the world produces death.
Matthew 11:28
“Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.”

The above was taken from :
One thought on “God’s goodness, comfort, and provision.

  1. You are awesome! Thankful for you my sister in Christ. Thankful that the Lord put us in the same group way back in the fall of 2011. Thank you for being obedient to the Lord's Spirit to care for me and others around you. Love you and your family. I pray I can love others as well as you do ALL THE TIME.

Leave a Reply

