Pumpkin Spice Latte

 Fall is here in it’s 104 degree disguise. Uncool. In an effort to save some hard earned moolah and stop the mid afternoon caffeine withdrawal headache I figured I’d attempt to copy Starbucks and make my own pumpkin spice latte. In the bottom of the mug above is a batch of fresh brewed espresso from my stovetop maker. I think it  yielded about a cup. After measuring out 1/3 c of the espresso I added just under 2 tsp pumpkin spice powder which is essentially equal parts cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg and ginger.

 To that I added 2 Tbsp brown sugar,

 1 Tbsp pumpkin pie mix (pie filling)

and put that bad boy in the microwave for 35 seconds. I made this yesterday, too, using 2 Tbsp pumpkin pie filling. It was flippin’ gross. No one wants a thick mass of pumpkin to chew on post-latte. Or maybe you do. That’s weird. Don’t tell me if you choose to alter the recipe to suit your weird taste 🙂

 My wonderful husband invested in this fine piece of equipment last year. It’s a milk frother from Williams Sonoma and I think cost around $90. It’s basically my best friend. Unless you’re reading this, Jerica, then it’s not my best friend but you catch my drift. I added equal parts 2% and whole milk and set it to the cappuccino setting to warm up and get foamy while the latte warmed up in the microwave.

 In order to remove aforementioned pumpkin sludge from the latte I used a tea strainer and tried to push as much pumpkin flavor through. About this time it was just before 8AM, I was trying to get ready for work. Kerrigan was less than thrilled to be standing and not held and in protest threw herself on the floor just to show how unimpressed with my early morning parenting she was. This process turned out to be a rather large mess so in the future I’ll be finding a way to simplify this mess.

 See frothed milk and un-pumpkin-sludged espresso. The bottom layer of the milk has already been mixed with the espresso and the remaining thick milk is on top to be ever so delicately spooned on top.

Day.Complete. Kerrigan was likely to  still be on the floor or in her high chair happily eating Honey Nut Cheerios watching Team Umizoomi. I was in too much of a state of yummy caffeine bliss to notice.  

One thought on “Pumpkin Spice Latte

Leave a Reply

