Lemon Sugar Cookies

I love all things lemon…about as much as I love all things pumpkin. We have a “only make half the recipe” rule for these cookies because our lack of self control and general sugar addiction ensure they last less than 12 hours in our home. That being said, I’ll attempt to figure out how to add in the pictures of the batch I made today but given I’m short on time and fairly new to the blog world this may be one of the least epic posts I’ve made 🙂 Either way, the cookies are uber legit, I have already eaten three today, and I don’t feel the tiniest bit of guilt about skipping my morning workout.

Preheat oven to 350. Mine runs a little high hence the lower temp for a softer cookie.

Cream together 2 sticks unsalted butter and 1 1/2 granulated sugar. I tend to not mix these two for very long but found today when I got after it for a few minutes the cookies are definitely better. Kerrigan helped too so maybe it was the delicate baby mixing that was the help…

Add the zest of two lemons and 2 tsp vanilla. Clearly the more expensive vanilla works better so you need less but let’s face it, money doesn’t grow on trees and I spent $1.07 on imitation vanilla at Kroger this morning in protest of high vanilla extract prices. To this add one egg, 1 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt. Blend together. Juice the two lemons you just stole zest from and add to the mix as well. Blend until well incorporated-45 seconds or so.

^^Voila! Mixed cookie batter. Ever so simple.

Roll silver dollar sized balls into sugar and place on baking sheet. I put my granulated sugar in my coffee grinder this morning to see if the super fine sugar would change anything from my typical “pour sugar from canister into bowl and roll haphazardly into roundish balls” routine. I personally liked the thicker granules so in the future I’ll skip this step-and the extra dishes to wash 🙂

 Bake as such for 8 minutes, turning the pan around after 6 unless you have an oven that doesn’t hate you and evenly bakes for you.

Proof my oven hates me…or my ability to evenly space cookies is nonexistent. I’ll go with option A and suggest cooking 6 at a time.In my infinite wisdom (see option B above) I didn’t take a picture of the final product, though images of Chris or I and possibly even Kerrigan eating them as gluttons this evening may possibly creep its way on Facebook.

Lemon Sugar Cookie Recipe

1c unsalted butter
1 1/2 c sugar
1 egg
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
zest/juice of 2 large lemons
2 3/4 c flour

Cream together butter and sugar

Add vanilla, egg, baking soda/powder, zest/juice of lemons and salt and blend until mixed

Blend in flour and roll into balls.

Roll balls in sugar, place 6 at a time on baking sheet and bake for 8 minutes at 350.

Leave a Reply

